“Training the Drift” article – a must read!

Jameson keeps up-to-date with several cycling websites, and occasionally finds an article that he passes along to me. Earlier this month, this one from Velonews landed in my inbox, and he and I both agreed that it really emphasizes a lot that we’ve experienced in our own training.

How can you train to have fresh legs at the end of a long road race? Velonews has some suggestions. Photo of Jameson at the 2013 Tour of Page County; a 1k-to-go attack led to finishing ahead of the pack.

How can you train to have fresh legs at the end of a long road race? Velonews has some suggestions. Photo of Jameson at the 2013 Tour of Page County; a 1k-to-go attack led to finishing ahead of the pack.

I highly recommend this article to anyone who races – it’s a quick read, and the concepts are really well explained. I would love to hear what all of you think about the tips and suggestions the author makes – do you agree? Have you experienced “cardiac drift” in your training or in a race? Do you “train the drift?”

Jameson’s always telling me to spin a higher cadence, go for longer rides, and prescribing me hill repeat intervals, so maybe he sent me this article to prove that he is right, and that I should stop grumbling about my training plan (right, like that’s ever gonna happen). It was nice to read it from someone else’s perspective that I’m on the right track.

I know there’s a lot of different training philosophies out there, but there’s no denying that the physiology of road racing requires us to do specific workouts to make it to the finish line without getting dropped.

 

-The Hungry Cyclists

This entry was published on April 3, 2014 at 10:32 am. It’s filed under Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

