Healthier Peanut Butter Silk Pie

I will be honest – I ate a LOT of desserts over this past holiday season. My sweet tooth then took a bit of a vacation, and I wasn’t  craving cookies, pies, cakes, etc. I was eating a lot of granola instead, and making a lot of berry smoothies (I’ll post the recipe in due time). Then I saw a pinterest photo of a peanut butter pie, and I was inspired to try my hand at making one myself.

You won't regret making this silky smooth PB pie!

You won’t regret making this silky smooth PB pie!

This particular version is based on a couple different recipes for peanut butter silk pie. If you do a google search, you’ll find that a lot of recipes are made with just peanut butter and greek yogurt. That’s all well and good, but I was looking for something a bit more light and airy, kind of like a mousse. This recipe does use peanut butter and vanilla greek yogurt, but it takes it one step further and whips in some dissolved, unflavored gelatin. This pie is smooth and creamy, but not overly indulgent – a great balance between being a treat and being healthy. It has a little tangy flavor from the yogurt, and while the filling isn’t too sweet, it nicely complements the more sugary oreo crust.

Adding the frozen berries conjures up flavors of PB + J - a classic combo, very tasty!

Adding the frozen berries conjures up flavors of PB + J – a classic combo, very tasty!

I made my own oreo crust, but you could feel free to buy a pre-made one at the store. If you don’t make a crust, this pie is a no-bake affair, and easily comes together for an emergency party or potluck. Even if you don’t take it to a party, try it tonight and sneak little slices all weekend 😉 I froze a couple lingering pieces, which were still delicious straight from the freezer!

This pie is healthier than silk pies made with heavy cream, but it is still a dessert. I calculated each slice to have around 250 calories.

A few notes about equipment for this recipe: I recommend using a food processor to make the oreo crust. It’s the best way to get the extra-fine crumbs that you need for an ideal crust. I also used pie weights to bake the crust. I have a set of ceramic pie weights because I’m a baking fanatic, but before I acquired those I used to use dried beans or lentils. I had a special tupperware of lentils that were my “pie weights,” and I re-used them many times. They’re a great, less-expensive alternative.

Recipe: Healthier Peanut Butter Silk Pie

Makes one 10” pie; serves 12

Ratings:

Prep/3, Leftovers/3, Guilt Factor/3, Overall/4

Click here for an explanation of my recipe rating system

Ingredients:

15 oreo cookies
2 T melted butter
1 envelope unflavored gelatin
1 c boiling water
1 c creamy peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla
3 c vanilla greek yogurt
1/2 c almond milk (or dairy milk, if you prefer)
optional:  1-2 T of powdered sugar to sweeten the pie

To make the oreo crust:

Preheat oven to 350F. Place the oreo cookies in a food processor and pulse until you have fine crumbs; alternatively you may crush them in a plastic bag with a rolling pin, but your crust will be more chunky. Drizzle in the melted butter and continue to pulse the crumbs until the butter is well-incorporated. Press the crumbs into a pie tin (I used a 10” tart pan with a removable bottom, but a regular pie tin will work). Cover the crust with foil and use pie weights to maintain pressure when baking. Bake for 15-20 minutes, then remove and cool while preparing filling, removing the pie weights to aid in cooling.

To make the peanut butter silk filling:

Boil the water and dissolve the gelatin in the water in a small bowl. Meanwhile, beat the peanut butter, yogurt, vanilla, and almond milk in a mixer until smooth and well-incorporated. Taste the filling and add sweetener if desired  (I used 1 T powdered sugar, but each brand of yogurt has a different amount of sweetener added, so be sure to taste the filling before adding any).

Gradually add in the dissolved gelatin, beating until creamy and well-incorporated. Beat on high for 1 minute to whip the filling and make it airy. Pour filling into cooled pie crust and chill in fridge until set, 1-2 hours.

Keep refrigerated until ready to eat. Slice pie and enjoy!

-The Hungry Cyclists

This entry was published on February 7, 2014 at 1:15 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

