Century Addicts, Part II

Jameson and I just can’t resist a good century ride. Earlier this spring, I wrote a post about our 100-mile endeavors, and this fall, with our relatively light cyclocross schedules, we got back out on the road for a few more epic adventures.

A pretty backdrop to finish off the ride.

A pretty backdrop to finish off the ride.

If you recall, Jameson broke his hand while racing on the track in August. He kept up with his riding while he healed, but was going a little stir-crazy being confined to the trainer.

Not exactly following doctor's orders...

Not exactly following doctor’s orders…

Naturally, the proper response to getting his cast off was to embark on a road ride, ASAP, but a century ride? A little crazy. Crazy fun!

Not to be outdone, I began planning my own century ride. I called it my “farewell to Baltimore County” ride, since I wasn’t sure if my free time and the beautiful fall weather would line up many more times before I had to depart for Minnesota. The weekend after my thesis seminar, I celebrated the completion of my PhD by finally embarking on the ride.

Always a good ride with BChan along for company!

Always a good ride with BChan along for company!

I was lucky enough to have the company of my favorite training buddy, BChan, for the first 30 miles or so. We stopped to pose by a free-range chicken farm, and then BChan turned around to head back to the city. I soldiered on, riding up into PA, snacking on some peanut butter sandwiches along the way.

All the happy little free-range chickens... little do they know they're being stalked by a Panther!

All the happy little free-range chickens… little do they know they’re being stalked by a Panther!

As I dipped back into Maryland, I came across a gas station and stopped for some re-fueling. Blue Gatorade and Peanut Butter Kandy Kakes. Believe it or not, I’d never eaten a Kandy Kake before – SO DELICIOUS! For my non-Mid-Atlantic readers, Kandy Kakes are made by TastyKake. They consist of little rounds of vanilla, topped with peanut butter and coated in chocolate. If you can’t eat a Kandy Kake guilt-free while on a century ride, then when can you?!?

I got to ride one of my very favorite roads, Gunpowder Falls Road, which is literally like a roller coaster as it weaves around Prettyboy Dam Reservoir. Unfortunately, my legs started to get a little tired after that, but the roads flattened out a bit as I got back to the city. I reached my neighborhood and realized that my Garmin was not quite at 100 miles. I don’t know where I lost a mile or two along my planned route, but I was NOT going to suffer a repeat of my last century – I completed the ride only to find that I had forgotten to re-start my computer, so Strava forever reads 97 miles instead of the actual 100! Tired and hungry, I did a few laps around the neighborhood to ensure I got my “bragging rights.”

Hard proof that I did a century, unlike the last time.

Hard proof that I did a century, unlike the last time.

It was an awesome ride, and I can’t wait for the weather to cooperate to complete my first MN century come spring time. Have you ever done a century? What was the hardest part?

This entry was published on December 3, 2013 at 3:46 pm. It’s filed under Outdoor, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

