Banana, Date, and Nut Breakfast Cookies

I’m kind of a baking fanatic. It’s relaxing for me to focus on something that isn’t work for a while, and I like baking because it feels productive when you stand back and survey your finished product. Unfortunately, I can’t just fill my kitchen with cookies and cupcakes and bars all the time, because I like eating baked goods just as much as I like baking them! I’m always happy when I find a recipe that satisfies the baking urge and turns out to be actually good for me. These Banana, Date, and Nut Breakfast Cookies are just that!

These cookies are the perfect little sweet treat while still being full of healthy nuts and whole grains.

These cookies are the perfect little sweet treat while still being full of healthy nuts and whole grains.

These cookies are more like a cookie-muffin hybrid, because they’re so fluffy and chewy. Full of whole grains, fruit, and protein, they’re perfect with coffee in place of your morning oatmeal, or as an afternoon snack. I recently baked a batch for my friend Megan as a thank-you for letting me race on her cyclocross bike. Megan informed me that her two-year-old was in love with these little cookies, so apparently they appeal to kids and grown-ups alike!

I didn’t get to take any step-by-step photos, but this is a one-bowl cookie recipe, and is very forgiving. Just throw everything together, mix really well, and bake! Don’t forget to use a sheet of parchment paper or a Silpat mat for these cookies – they don’t have any added fat, and will stick to an unlined baking sheet! I have, in a pinch, used aluminum foil for a baking sheet liner, but I would use extra caution (and maybe a spray of cooking oil) if you go that route.

Hope you enjoy these tasty little guys!

-The Hungry Cyclists

Recipe: Banana, Date, and Nut Breakfast Cookies

Makes 16 cookies

Ratings:

Prep/2, Leftovers/4, Guilt Factor/5, Overall/5

Click here for an explanation of my recipe ratings system

Ingredients:

3 large super-ripe bananas, mashed
1.5 c quick oats
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 c dates, chopped
1 c chopped nuts (walnuts + almonds)
1 egg
2 T honey

To make the cookies:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl with a spatula until well combined. Use a tablespoon to drop cookies onto a lined baking sheet.

Bake cookies for 15-20 minutes, or until firm and slightly browning on bottom edges. Remove from oven and let cool slightly before placing on a wire rack to cool. Eat and enjoy!

This entry was published on November 6, 2013 at 2:23 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

